RSS

The Royal Splendor (or Must-See-TV!)

29 Apr

Nations on both side of the pond had been at a fever pitch in eager anticipation of the day.  In fact, people throughout the world watched.  It proved to be the once-in-a-generation spectacle that we have come to expect for events so special as this. 

In our little corner of the world, my wife and I had been anxiously awaiting this occasion for weeks.  Huddled by the “telly” in the dark, it did not disappoint.  We’ve been up all night watching the highlights again and again.  We were so struck by the pomp-and-circumstance of it all, but mostly the pomp.  (We’re suckers for pomp.)

Towards the end, tears were streaming down our cheeks.  He looked so handsome, so cool and collected.  When he strode down the corridor, and she followed—it was regal majesty.  We will always remember where we were when we saw it….Pam hugging Michael Scott goodbye.

God Speed, Steve Carell, The Office will not be the same without you.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “The Royal Splendor (or Must-See-TV!)

  1. David Small

    April 29, 2011 at 9:09 AM

    Ha! Good one!

     
  2. Jill Beal

    April 29, 2011 at 11:26 AM

    Nice! You got me, wasn’t ready for that! Clever, clever!!

     
  3. Jill Beal

    April 29, 2011 at 11:29 AM

    PS – Please tell me it’s time for a ‘drivers license’ picture update. It’s detracting from the beauty here on your blog!!

     
    • kmsmall

      April 29, 2011 at 11:58 AM

      Jill, you have echoed my wife’s sentiment. Around these parts, that makes for a quorum. The “blob fish” will soon be a distant, slimy memory.

       
  4. David Small

    April 29, 2011 at 2:45 PM

    I’m sure that HOARDS of potential readers have been avoiding your site because of the ugly face up there. Come on, Kev! Get us something with some sex appeal!

     
    • kmsmall

      April 29, 2011 at 3:38 PM

      What do you want? I included a picture of Angie Dickinson a few posts ago! And I used “Kate Middleton” as a tag on this post. Those two should get me a bit of mileage.

      And do my eyes deceive me…”HOARDS?” Come on, Dave, you (and Jill) are my paragons of spelling and syntactic exactitude. Step it up, Small!

       
  5. David Small

    April 29, 2011 at 4:05 PM

    Hordes…

    Hordes!

     
  6. David Small

    April 29, 2011 at 4:10 PM

    I’ve been sleep.deprived…

     
  7. Amy

    May 1, 2011 at 9:08 AM

    Pomp -a-pomp-a pomp a !

     
  8. RHome410

    May 7, 2011 at 11:46 AM

    I missed the show, but you convinced me to search it out and watch it via internet. It lost a little something, watching it alone and in the afternoon. Tearing up in daylight while sitting at the computer screen just isn’t the same…

     

Leave a comment